As detailed previously above, contact is penalised but if in the opinion of the referee a competitor steps forward into a technique, which otherwise would have been correctly
focused, points will be awarded to the attacker as if it were a “decisive blow”.
If a competitor is unable to continue in such a situation, the bout will be awarded to the attacker. In all other cases of unintentional and intentional excessive contact, where a
competitor is unable to continue, the injured competitor will be awarded the bout (subject to referee’s decision).